About CNEC

In 2014 NC State was awarded a five-year, $25 million grant by the National Nuclear Security Administration’s (NNSA) Office of Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation Research and Development to develop the next generation of leaders with practical experience in technical fields relevant to nuclear nonproliferation. NC State was selected by NNSA over 22 other proposals following a competitive process that began in May 2013. The Consortium for Nonproliferation Enabling Capabilities (CNEC) was created and comprises seven partner universities (NC State, Georgia Tech, Kansas State University, NC A&T State University, Purdue University, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and University of Michigan) and four national laboratories (Los Alamos, Oak Ridge, Pacific Northwest, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories).

University Partners

University of Michigan

Purdue University

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

North Carolina State University

Georgia Institute of Technology

North Carolina A&T State University

Kansas State University

National Laboratory Partners

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Advisory Board

  • Christine Anderson-Cook (LANL)
  • Al Carnesale (UCLA)
  • Elmer Lewis (Northwestern U.)
  • Bob Mayo (Johns Hopkins U.)
  • Will Tobey (Harvard U.)
  • Nick Tsoulfanidis (Missouri S&T U.)


Contact Us

Stefani Buster, JD

Assistant Director



Visit Us

1009 Capability Drive

Raleigh, NC 27606

Room 210